Category: Japanese

  • album review: Perfume “PLASMA”

    album review: Perfume “PLASMA”

    The world is no longer the world we knew back in 2018, when electronic-pop trio Perfume released their album “Future Pop”. Performances could not proceed, concerts were cancelled or rescheduled or aired for television consumption, and Japanese pop groups faced threats to their longevity in the scene. And yet, even when all else was uncertain, […]

  • album review: hitomi “huma-rhythm”

    album review: hitomi “huma-rhythm”

    We’ve reached album stage for the “huma-rhythm” series, and just in the nick of time! Did you know this album was released on this day in 2002? That’s… wow, 20 years ago! Insane to think I’ve gotten to that point in my life where music I’ve grown up with is now 20 years old, but […]

  • single review: Morning Musume. “SEXY BOY ~Soyokaze ni Yorisotte~”

    single review: Morning Musume. “SEXY BOY ~Soyokaze ni Yorisotte~”

    Bet you thought there wouldn’t be another series to throw into the mix, but nope, I’m doing it now! This time, I’ll be looking at a set of singles up to the release of an album known as “SEXY 8 BEAT”, from my ult-group and Japan’s mega pop-sensation Morning Musume., and more specifically, the set […]

  • single review: hitomi “SAMURAI DRIVE”

    single review: hitomi “SAMURAI DRIVE”

    The final single in the ‘huma-rhythm’ series, skipping over “I am / innocence” as I previously reviewed it, sees hitomi tackling on cover territory with “SAMURAI DRIVE”. With a fierce space-like image that will be further referenced in the album it’s part of, on top of it all with a sleek sexy samurai outfit, “SAMURAI […]

  • single review: hitomi “IS IT YOU?”

    single review: hitomi “IS IT YOU?”

    Second up in hitomi’s ‘huma-rhythm’ set is the single “IS IT YOU?“, released in the last half of 2001. Containing three songs, hitomi begs us the age-old question of whether who we’re looking for is you, wants us to keep an open mind, and then asks a new question: why? Continuing with the inspirational and […]

  • single review: hitomi “INNER CHILD”

    single review: hitomi “INNER CHILD”

    I’ll be doing another series following my ‘BAD Mode’ set, and this time, I’ll be focusing on a singer that most people may only know through an anime series known as InuYasha: hitomi. I previously did a review on the single attached to it here (known as “I am / innocence”), but today, I’ll be […]

  • album review: Utada Hikaru “BAD Mode”

    album review: Utada Hikaru “BAD Mode”

    At last, we have reached the album! Released January 19, 2022, as a gift to their fans on their own birthday, “BAD Mode” is Utada Hikaru’s (or Hikki’s, as their fans devotedly call them) eighth studio album, featuring singles that trace back to the beginning of 2019. In the three year span, Hikki would go […]

  • single review: Utada Hikaru “Kimi ni Muchuu”

    single review: Utada Hikaru “Kimi ni Muchuu”

    The final single in the series is “Kimi ni Muchuu“, serving as another tie-in (Hikki and these tie-in’s…). This time, “Kimi ni Muchuu” is attached as a theme song to the J-drama ‘Saiai’, and the track sees Hikki pairing up one more time with well-known PC Music producer A.G. Cook (best known for his collaborations […]

  • single review: Utada Hikaru “PINK BLOOD”

    single review: Utada Hikaru “PINK BLOOD”

    Fourth up would originally be “One Last Kiss” in the ‘BAD Mode’ review series… however! I have already reviewed it here, so enjoy! With that established, the next review up on the list is for a single released in 2021, and yes, it has another tie-in. This time, Hikki’s “PINK BLOOD” serves as the opening […]